LibGuides: Problems in World History: Africa Essay: Step Three: Locate and Record Information

Essential Questions

Questions to answer in this step:

Which sources do I want to use for my project?
What information do I need to record from each source?
What type of note-taking strategy to I want to employ?

There are two note taking options listed below. Once you have selected one, fill out this GOOGLE FORM to let us know which one you have chosen.

Noodletools
Don't forget that your Noodletools account has a great note taking feature that will allow you to connect your sources directly to the notes that you are taking.
Google Drive
Google Drive is a great place to organize and maintain all of your notes. You can access it from any device, and you don't have to worry about losing your notes! If you select this option, organize your notes into folders and clearly title your documents so that they are easy to locate.

Senior School Library Catalog

A cart of books on Africa have been pulled for this project.

Want to know if the library has any additional books on your topic? Use the catalog below to search using your KEYWORDS!

Ask Ms. Myers or any of the library staff if you need help locating books.

Find:

Advanced Search

Carnegie Library Catalog
Can't find a book that you want in our library? Check and see if the public library has it! If you have a library card, you can order it to be delivered to your library, or go pick it up yourself. If you do not have a card see Ms. Myers to order.

eBook Options

The History of Central and Eastern Africa
This title is located in our Gale Virtual Reference Library, and gives information about various nations in Northern and Eastern Africa. You can access this from anywhere using the passwords in listed on the Google Document, link on right side of this page.
The History of Northern Africa
This title is located in the Gale Virtual Reference library, and provides detail on many nations in Northern Africa. You can access this from anywhere using the passwords in listed on the Google Document, link on right side of this page.
The History of Southern Africa
This title is located in the Gale Virtual Reference Library. It is a great place to start to learn more about the history of a nation in Southern Africa.
The History of Western Africa
This title is located in the Gale Virtual Reference Library. Access it for a great background on Western Africa.

EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
EbscoHost is a hosting site for multiple databases that include periodicals, eBooks, academic journals, images, etc. Once you click on the link, select the database you want to use.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
The Gale Virtual Reference Library offers access to numerous eBooks for various subjects, ranging from medicine to history and science. This is a great place to locate reference materials on a topic.

Database Options

Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Provides numerous types of resources, from periodicals, academic journals, reference materials, etc. on world history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to numerous academic journals, perfect for in-depth information on a topic.
EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
EbscoHost is a hosting site for multiple databases that include periodicals, eBooks, academic journals, images, etc. Once you click on the link, select the database you want to use.

Website Options

Remember that you must always evaluate each site according to the following:

Authority
Bias
Currency
Documentation

The sites below have been selected by your librarian and teacher. Access these BEFORE you Google.

Google Scholar
Search this resource for scholarly articles and books on your topic. You might find that some are available in JSTOR, which we have access to through our subscription.
BBC: Africa and the Transatlantic Slave Trade
Great overview of the slave trade; good for a general understanding of the issue.
Transatlantic Slave Trade Database
Search for specific voyages, and locate statistics for voyages and cargo sent to different countries. There are also a few essays available that can be used as secondary sources.
UNESCO Transatlantic Slave Trade
Information on the slave routes and maps.
Primary Sources on the Slave Trade from the Digital Public Library
Great resource for primary sources such as excerpts from diaries and journals, as well as paintings from the period.
The Atlantic Slave Trade in Two Minutes
A fascinating interactive map shows the path of slave ships from Africa to the New World. Also includes brief overview and links to other research.
Port Cities Bristol: East African Slave Trade
Journal of African Development
Arab Slave Trade
Slave Trade and Slavery on the Swahili Coast
Primary Sources and Archival Collections: Benin and Botswana
Olaudah Equiano and the Slave Trade
Africa and the Africans in the Age of the Atlantic Slave Trade
Dahomy, Portugal, and Bahia: King Adandozen and the Atlantic Slave Trade
Benin and the Slave Trade
The Colonization of Africa
Essay by Ehiedu E. G. Iweriebor of Hunter College, collection of images from the New York Public Library.

Database Passwords

Need access to a database?

Please click HERE to access the usernames and passwords for our databases.

**NOTE: You must be signed in to your SSA email and password to access the Google Document- if you receive an error message, please sign out of your personal email and sign in using your SSA email address.