LibGuides: Voting Rights and Citizenship Project: Home

Need Access?

Database Passwords

Please click HERE to access the usernames and passwords for our databases.

**NOTE: You must be signed in to your SSA email and password to access the Google Document- if you receive an error message, please sign out of your personal email and sign in using your SSA email address.

Databases and eBooks

American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window
Database of over 60,000 primary source documents, maps, guides, essays, and lectures on American History.
American History Online This link opens in a new window
Variety of information pertaining to American history.
EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
EbscoHost is a hosting site for multiple databases that include periodicals, eBooks, academic journals, images, etc. Once you click on the link, select the database you want to use.
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource providing articles, images, etc. on a wide range of topics.
Gale in Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Provides numerous types of resources, from periodicals, academic journals, reference materials, etc. on U.S. history.
Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Discover some of the various arguments throughout world and American history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to numerous academic journals, perfect for in-depth information on a topic.
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical newspapers, including The New York Times.
ProQuest Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for historical newspapers, primary sources, and other resources from various periods in history.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reference eBooks on a variety of topics.

Websites

Voting Rights Timeline
Great resource from Teaching Tolerance, highlighting major events in the history of voting rights.
Defining Citizenship
Exhibit from the National Museum of American History.
Library of Congress: Collection on Voting Rights
Article from the Library of Congress on Voting Rights
How U.S. Immigration laws and rules have changed through history.
Article from the Pew Research Center.

Citation Guides for History

Evaluating Websites

Part 1: Currency

The timeliness of the information

When was the information published or posted?

Has the information been revised or updated?

Is the information current or out-of date for your topic?

Are the links functional?

Part 2: Relevance

The importance of the information for your needs

Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?

Who is the intended audience?

Is the information at an appropriate level?

Have you looked at a variety of sources before choosing this one?

Would you be comfortable using this source for a research paper?

Part 3:Authority

The source of the information

Who is the author, publisher, source, and/or sponsor of the site?

Are the author’s credentials or organizational affiliations given? What are they?

What are the author’s qualifications to write on the topic?

What is the domain name for the URL?

Is there contact information, such as a publisher or email address for the author or site administrator?

Part 4: Accuracy

The reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the content

Where does the information come from?

Is the information supported by evidence?

Has the information been reviewed or refereed?

Can you verify any of the information in another source?

Does the language or tone seem biased or is it free of emotion?

Are there spelling, grammar, or other typographical errors?

Part 5: Purpose

The reason the information exists

What is the purpose of the information?

Do the authors or sponsors of the site make their intentions or purpose clear?

Is the information fact, opinion, or propaganda?

Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?

Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional, or personal biases?