Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English Resources Guide
SSA Senior School Library subscribes to numerous databases for use by students, faculty, and staff. The resources on this page are most useful for teachers of English, but can be applied to many disciplines!
OFF CAMPUS ACCESS
Most resources are available off campus. The database passwords google document lists all of the usernames and passwords need to access the databases while not at school. If you encounter any issues or are unable to access a database off campus, please email Mrs. Myers.
Databases with Resources for English
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Collections of resources including: BBC Drama Films and Documentaries, LA Theatre Works, Nick Hern Books, Shakespeare's Globe on Screen Video, Shakespeare/Early Modern Drama Video, and Royal Shakespeare Company Live Collections.
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database offers literary criticisms, synopsis, character explanations, etc. for numerous literary titles.
EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
EbscoHost is a hosting site for multiple databases that include periodicals, eBooks, academic journals, images, etc. Once you click on the link, select the database you want to use and read the description.
Gale Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for author information and literary criticism lists. Available via Power Library.
Gale Lit Finder This link opens in a new window
Discover literature content from more than 150,000 full-text poems, 840,000 poem citations and excerpts, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays published in the 16th-20th centuries, 2,400 full-text speeches, and 1,250 full-text plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary. Within LitFinder's collection, users can access works from over 80,000 authors from 660 nationalities.
Create simple respsones for daily readings, or book reviews for summer reading and/or independent reading titles!
Excellent resource for articles, videos, podcasts, etc., centered around poetry, both historical and modern.
Another excellent resource for poetry, providing full-text poems as well as teaching resources.
NY Times Learning Network: English and Language Arts
Lesson plans, activities, and games provided by the NY Times.
Text and Video Tutorials for Best English Databases