LibGuides: Patterns- The Disputation: Step 2: Research Resources

In-Depth Research

You will need to review the following types of information:

Primary Documents- famous works by the guest, letters written to other guests, etc.
Secondary analysis of your guest's works and/or life by historians and scholars

You will find these types of information in:

Library Books
- a cart of books have been pulled for this project. Some books are by the guests, other books are secondary analysis and historical studies. Check out the cart, and feel free to search our catalog for more books!
Google Books
- most of the works will be in the Public Domain, meaning they are free to read online
Academic Journals
- these resources can be found in EbscoHost, JSTOR, and Gale World History
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- Another great resource for primary documents

Encyclopedia Britannica
Excellent resource providing articles, images, etc. on a wide range of topics.

Google Books
Most of your philosophers' writings are in the public domain, so search for books and writings by your author in Google Books
Project Gutenberg
Another place to find great book sources that will have primary documents are books written by your philosopher.
Fordham Internet Medieval Sourcebook Selected Sources: Renaissance
Collection of works by various individuals influential during the Renaissance

Gale in Context: World History
Provides numerous types of resources, from periodicals, academic journals, reference materials, etc. on world history.
JSTOR
Access to numerous academic journals, perfect for in-depth information on a topic.
EbscoHost
EbscoHost is a hosting site for multiple databases that include periodicals, eBooks, academic journals, images, etc. Once you click on the link, select the database you want to use.
Gale eBooks
Reference eBooks on a variety of topics.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This is an excellent resource for in-depth biographies. Search for the name of a philosopher, and read the article (it is usually separated into individual sections). This can also be used later for articles on a philosopher's specific approach to different topics.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Another great source for biographies on philosophers. You can search by clicking on the letter of the last name of your philosopher, and finding all articles related to that individual.