LibGuides: Tree of Life: Project Resources

Citation Guides by Style

Generally, scientists use APA style to cite their sources. Please check with your teacher to see which style he/she prefers for you to use!

NoodleTools
NoodleTools allows you to use all three citation styles. Make sure that you select the correct one when you begin your project!

Science eBooks

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This is an excellent resource for ebooks of science reference materials. It is easy to search, and you can save articles to your Google Drive.
EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
When you click on this resource, it will lead you to a hosting site for many different databases. Select the eBook databases, and then you will be taken to the search page. This will have some reference materials, but mainly more in-depth texts on specific subjects.

Science Databases

Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
This is an excellent source for a variety of information, from reference materials to magazine and journal articles. When you are searching, use the menu on the right to select the different types of sources that you would like to use.
EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
In addition to eBooks, ebscohost has a variety of other databases that have access to numerous newspaper as well as journal articles. Please read through the list of databases, and select the ones that will work best for your project.
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
This is a great resource to begin your search for reference articles and basic information about your topic. There are also links to other related articles and resources, such as videos, so make sure to check those out as well!
Science Online This link opens in a new window
This is a useful database for basic scientific research. It includes diagrams, timelines, learning modules, and experiments.
Science Magazine This link opens in a new window
Great resource for scientific research and reports.
Power Library Databases This link opens in a new window
There are many science databases available in this suite of databases. Select the following: Gale Topics--General Science Collection.

Database Passwords

Need access to a database?

Please click HERE to access the usernames and passwords for our databases.

**NOTE: You must be signed in to your SSA email and password to access the Google Document- if you receive an error message, please sign out of your personal email and sign in using your SSA email address.

Website Sources

You are welcome to search for your own websites to use, but you must make sure to evaluate them to ensure that the information is reliable and credible.

Ask Mrs. Myers or your teacher if you have any questions about the reliability of a website or source.

Searching Tips:

Use multiple keywords
Perform multiple searches with different keywords
Go past the first page of results!
Look at the URL- think about the domain and whether or not it should be considered a credible source

Image Resources

Remember, you must cite an image just as you would cite any written content. Images are also intellectual property, so please cite them appropriately.

You cannot use Google Images as the citation for your image. You must go to the original location of the image, if you use a Google Search to locate a variety of images.

Image Quest from Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Thousands of images for educational use, includes citations for images!

Google Advanced
You can use Google Advanced to find images that have a Creative Commons license. Go down to "usage rights" and select free to use or share.

Tree of Life: Project Resources