Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a Database?
A database is a collection of resources that is curated and selected specifically for each individual database. We have a variety of databases here at the SSA Senior School Library. Some databases will be more useful or applicable to projects than others. You should always think about your INTENT- what type of information are you looking for? Select databases according to your intent.
Best Science Databases
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
This is an excellent resource to locate a variety of information from various types of sources. Make sure that you know what type of source you are using! See the video below for a brief tutorial on how to search and differentiate between sources.
EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
The best options for locating scientific research are GreenFile, Academic Search Main Edition, Masterfile Premier, and the eBook Academic Collection.
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Great for general background on a topic. Start here if you know nothing about a topic!
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to numerous academic journals, perfect for in-depth information on a topic.
Science Magazine This link opens in a new window
Great resource for scientific research and reports.
Science Online This link opens in a new window
This is a useful database for basic scientific research. It includes diagrams, timelines, learning modules, and experiments.
Need access to a database?
Please click HERE to access the usernames and passwords for our databases.
**NOTE: You must be signed in to your SSA email and password to access the Google Document- if you receive an error message, please sign out of your personal email and sign in using your SSA email address.