Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What happened after 1974...
Remote Database Access
Please click HERE to access the usernames and passwords for our databases.
**NOTE: You must be signed in to your SSA email and password to access the Google Document- if you receive an error message, please sign out of your personal email and sign in using your SSA email address.
EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
Access the eBooks Collection as well as the eBook Academic Collection. Use a variety of keywords when searching for your topic of interest. Use the PDF Full Text option to open the book, view the table of contents, and search within for your keywords.
Landmark Legislation 1974-2012
Covers the most important laws and treaties enacted by the U.S. Congress and examines an entire decade of new legislation. Includes additional acts and treaties chosen for their historical significance or their precedential importance for later areas of major federal legislative activity in the over 200 years since the convocation of the Continental Congress.
ProQuest Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
In this database, you will find access to a variety of different topics referenced in various disciplines. Start your search with the History--Black Studies center collections. There are numerous collections of papers from the NAACP as well as government documents detailing racial relations and policies after 1974.
Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Once you access this source, look in the menu on the right side under American Eras. Click on the collection for "1972-Present: Contemporary Era" to locate information on various topics.
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection includes access to a wide range of newspapers, including The Pittsburgh Courier and The Chicago Defender.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for secondary sources.
RAND State Statistics This link opens in a new window
Statistics on a variety of topics, easily searched and clearly presented.