LibGuides: Problems in World History: Africa Islam Essay: Library Resources- eBooks, Databases, and Websites

eBook Options

The History of Central and Eastern Africa
This title is located in our Gale Virtual Reference Library, and gives information about various nations in Northern and Eastern Africa. You can access this from anywhere using the passwords in listed on the Google Document, link on right side of this page.
The History of Northern Africa
This title is located in the Gale Virtual Reference library, and provides detail on many nations in Northern Africa. You can access this from anywhere using the passwords in listed on the Google Document, link on right side of this page.
The History of Southern Africa
This title is located in the Gale Virtual Reference Library. It is a great place to start to learn more about the history of a nation in Southern Africa.
The History of Western Africa
This title is located in the Gale Virtual Reference Library. Access it for a great background on Western Africa.

EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
EbscoHost is a hosting site for multiple databases that include periodicals, eBooks, academic journals, images, etc. Once you click on the link, select the database you want to use.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
The Gale Virtual Reference Library offers access to numerous eBooks for various subjects, ranging from medicine to history and science. This is a great place to locate reference materials on a topic.

Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Provides numerous types of resources, from periodicals, academic journals, reference materials, etc. on world history.
EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
EbscoHost is a hosting site for multiple databases that include periodicals, eBooks, academic journals, images, etc. Once you click on the link, select the database you want to use.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to numerous academic journals, perfect for in-depth information on a topic.
World Religions This link opens in a new window
Extensive database on world religions, offering general reference articles, primary sources, videos, images, etc. Great resource for teachers as well as students.

Part 1: Currency

The timeliness of the information

When was the information published or posted?

Has the information been revised or updated?

Is the information current or out-of date for your topic?

Are the links functional?

Part 2: Relevance

The importance of the information for your needs

Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?

Who is the intended audience?

Is the information at an appropriate level?

Have you looked at a variety of sources before choosing this one?

Would you be comfortable using this source for a research paper?

Part 3:Authority

The source of the information

Who is the author, publisher, source, and/or sponsor of the site?

Are the author’s credentials or organizational affiliations given? What are they?

What are the author’s qualifications to write on the topic?

What is the domain name for the URL?

Is there contact information, such as a publisher or email address for the author or site administrator?

Part 4: Accuracy

The reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the content

Where does the information come from?

Is the information supported by evidence?

Has the information been reviewed or refereed?

Can you verify any of the information in another source?

Does the language or tone seem biased or is it free of emotion?

Are there spelling, grammar, or other typographical errors?

Part 5: Purpose

The reason the information exists

What is the purpose of the information?

Do the authors or sponsors of the site make their intentions or purpose clear?

Is the information fact, opinion, or propaganda?

Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?

Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional, or personal biases?