Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a Database?
A database is a collection of resources that is curated and selected specifically for each individual database. We have a variety of databases here at the SSA Senior School Library. Some databases will be more useful or applicable to projects than others. You should always think about your INTENT- what type of information are you looking for? Select databases according to your intent.
American History Online
Great for general articles, primary sources, and images.
EbscoHost is a hosting site for multiple databases that include periodicals, eBooks, academic journals, images, etc. Once you click on the link, select the database you want to use and read the description.
Gale U.S. History in Context
Provides numerous types of resources, from periodicals, academic journals, reference materials, etc. on U.S. history.
Issues and Controversies in History
Discover some of the various arguments throughout world and American history.
Access to numerous academic journals, perfect for in-depth information on a topic.
ProQuest Primary Sources Collection
This is a collection of newspapers from 1851 until 2013. Search for your topic using your keywords, and you might be able to find some historical articles that would count as a primary source.
Need access to a database?
Please click HERE to access the usernames and passwords for our databases.
**NOTE: You must be signed in to your SSA email and password to access the Google Document- if you receive an error message, please sign out of your personal email and sign in using your SSA email address.