Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History Resources Guide
SSA Senior School Library subscribes to numerous databases for use by students, faculty, and staff. The resources on this page are most useful for teachers of English, but can be applied to many disciplines!
OFF CAMPUS ACCESS
Most resources are available off campus. The database passwords google document lists all of the usernames and passwords need to access the databases while not at school. If you encounter any issues or are unable to access a database off campus, please email Mrs. Myers.
Every student has access to a Noodletools account, that assists with collecting resources, creating bibliographies, and designing outlines. For more information and video tutorials, go to the Research Assistance tab on this page.
Click HERE for a tutorial and guide for signing up for a Noodletools account.
SSA Library subscribes to digital editions of The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette. To access the New York Times, please create an account by following the directions below. Accounts will need to be renewed each year, so if you find that you are unable to access your account, please follow the same directions to renew.
The Wall Street Journal and the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette have a generic username/password combination, available on the Passwords document linked at the top of this page.
The Wall Street Journal
Full digital access to the Wall Street Journal, using the username and password available on the Database Passwords page.
Pittsburgh's newspaper, reporting on local, regional, and national news. Use the Database Passwords page to locate the username and password.
The New York Times
1. Click on the link above.
2. If you already have an account, select that option. If you do not have an account, create an account with your SSA email address.
3. Once you have signed up, you will receive a verification email. Click on the link in the email to renew/confirm your account.
Databases with Resources for History
American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window
Database of over 60,000 primary source documents, maps, guides, essays, and lectures on American History.
American History Online This link opens in a new window
Variety of information pertaining to American history.
EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
EbscoHost is a hosting site for multiple databases that include periodicals, eBooks, academic journals, images, etc. Once you click on the link, select the database you want to use and read the description.
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource providing articles, images, etc. on a wide range of topics.
Gale in Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Provides numerous types of resources, from periodicals, academic journals, reference materials, etc. on U.S. history.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Provides numerous types of resources, from periodicals, academic journals, reference materials, etc. on world history.
Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Discover some of the various arguments throughout world and American history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to numerous academic journals, perfect for in-depth information on a topic.
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical newspapers, including The New York Times.
ProQuest Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for historical newspapers, primary sources, and other resources from various periods in history.
RAND State Statistics This link opens in a new window
Statistics on a variety of topics, easily searched and clearly presented.
World Religions This link opens in a new window
Extensive database on world religions, offering general reference articles, primary sources, videos, images, etc. Great resource for teachers as well as students.
Text and Video Tutorials for Select History Databases