Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Importance of Reliable Research
When you are researching information for ANY health related topic, it is very important to locate and use reliable, credible and current resources. Use Lateral reading (outlined below) to review information you locate using a Google Search. If you are not sure if a website is reliable, ask Mrs. Myers or Mrs. Ternier!
Health Reference Center
Excellent resource for health related topics and research projects.
Power Library Databases
There are a few helpful databases to explore. Health and Wellness will be very useful for this project, as there is a topic called "mental health" under the "browse topics" section. You can also search in the High School database for the subject "mental health."
Use Academic Search Premier and MasterFile Main Edition to locate journal articles on your topic. You can also go back and use the News-related databases to search for current news articles and information on your topic.
Remote Database Access
Please click HERE to access the usernames and passwords for our databases.
**NOTE: You must be signed in to your SSA email and password to access the Google Document- if you receive an error message, please sign out of your personal email and sign in using your SSA email address.
The following databases are NOT available off-campus:
- Science Magazine
Reference eBooks on a variety of topics.
Use the eBook Collection and the Academic eBook collection to locate numerous resources on your topic.
Newspaper Articles to Review
New York Times
Access the New York Times using your SSA email address. Sign up for an account by clicking on the link.
Pittsburgh's newspaper, reporting on local, regional, and national news. Use the Database Passwords page to locate the username and password.
The Wall Street Journal
Full digital access to the Wall Street Journal, using the username and password available on the Database Passwords page.
Evaluating Information from the Free Web