Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Always start your research with background information. You are required to have a background section, and this source will give you a lot of information to get you started with that part of the project.
Senior School Library Catalog
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This is an excellent source for background information. Select the link and do a general search to find your topic.
EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
Select the eBook databases: eBook Collection and eBook Academic Collection. These will give you the broadest range of resources. Make sure to use muliple keywords when looking for your topic!
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
You can find a variety of sources in Gale. Once you do an advanced search, look at the gray box at the top and select the type of source that you want. Gale does have primary sources. If you do not find what you need in one search, try new keywords!
Image Quest from Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
This is an EXCELLENT source for images. It offers a vast amount of images, which can be used as artifacts in your project. It also provides the citation for each source so that you can easily include that information in your bibliography.
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
There are many different newspapers to sort through in this list. I recommend starting with The New York Times to see what they wrote about the topic. If there is a specific newspaper that you find did do a lot of reporting on a topic, you can come back to the main list and see if it is available in Proquest.
Power Library Databases This link opens in a new window
This is a large collection of databases on a variety of topics, so make sure that you read the description of the database before selecting one. AP Newsroom will be helpful to locate photographs and news about a topic, as it offers over 100 years of resources. The News database might also be useful for this project, depending on the date of the materials you need.
ProQuest Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
This is a vast collection of primary sources. The focus is generally on United States history, but there are some options for world history and historical newspapers that reported on world events. Browse through the resources available, and then take the time to search in one that seems relevant to your project.
Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
There are many different types of resources in this database as well. You will need to use a variety of keywords. Once you locate a topic, you can click on the "primary sources" tab to see what is available about that topic.
Where can I find primary sources?
The descriptions of the databses to the left say whether or not primary sources are included. But, here is a quick reference list of primary source options in databases and other resources.
Websites for Primary Sources