LibGuides: Race Video Project: Databases and Websites

Types of Resources

Within both the databases and the websites, the following types of resources are available:

General reference information and overviews about the topic
Newspaper articles from the time period you are researching
Primary sources (letters, images, speeches, pamphlets, etc.)

When you look in a database, narrow your search down by selecting the type of resource you need. Make sure to cite all sources, and see Ms. Myers or your classroom teacher if you need further assistance.

If you are unsure as to how to cite sources, check out this guide: Chicago Style Sample Sheet.

This document will help with citing primary sources from Proquest and websites.

Best Databases

American History Online This link opens in a new window
Variety of information pertaining to American history.
Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Discover some of the various arguments throughout world and American history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to numerous academic journals, perfect for in-depth information on a topic.
ProQuest Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for historical newspapers, primary sources, and other resources from various periods in history.
Gale in Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Provides numerous types of resources, from periodicals, academic journals, reference materials, etc. on U.S. history.
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical newspapers, including The New York Times.

Database Passwords

Need access to a database?

Please click HERE to access the usernames and passwords for our databases.

**NOTE: You must be signed in to your SSA email and password to access the Google Document- if you receive an error message, please sign out of your personal email and sign in using your SSA email address.

Tutorial Videos for Databases

Websites

Library of Congress: American Memory Project
Great resource for primary documents, including letters, speeches, images, etc.
http://www.harpweek.com/
Collection of primary documents from the magazine Harper's Weekly.
PBS American Experience
Use the search bar at the top right to search for your topic to locate articles as well as documentaries.

Citation Help

Purdue Owl Website