LibGuides: Final Essay Guide: Problems in World History: Step Three: Locate and Record Information

Essential Questions

Questions to answer in this step:

Which sources do I want to use for my project?
What information do I need to record from each source?
What type of note-taking strategy to I want to employ?

Noodletools
Don't forget that your Noodletools account has a great note taking feature that will allow you to connect your sources directly to the notes that you are taking.
Google Drive
Google Drive is a great place to organize and maintain all of your notes. You can access it from any device, and you don't have to worry about losing your notes! If you select this option, organize your notes into folders and clearly title your documents so that they are easy to locate.

Senior School Library Catalog

Want to know if the library has any additional books on your topic? Use the catalog below to search using your KEYWORDS!

Ask Ms. Myers or any of the library staff if you need help locating books.

Find:

Advanced Search

Carnegie Library Catalog
Can't find a book that you want in our library? Check and see if the public library has it! If you have a library card, you can order it to be delivered to your library, or go pick it up yourself. If you do not have a card see Ms. Myers to order.

eBooks

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reference eBooks on a variety of topics.
EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
EbscoHost is a hosting site for multiple databases that include periodicals, eBooks, academic journals, images, etc. Once you click on the link, select the database you want to use.

Database Passwords

Need access to a database?

Please click HERE to access the usernames and passwords for our databases.

**NOTE: You must be signed in to your SSA email and password to access the Google Document- if you receive an error message, please sign out of your personal email and sign in using your SSA email address.

Database Options

Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Provides numerous types of resources, from periodicals, academic journals, reference materials, etc. on world history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to numerous academic journals, perfect for in-depth information on a topic.
EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
EbscoHost is a hosting site for multiple databases that include periodicals, eBooks, academic journals, images, etc. Once you click on the link, select the database you want to use.
Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from around the world, from 1690 to the present day.
ProQuest Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for historical newspapers, primary sources, and other resources from various periods in history.
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical newspapers, including The New York Times.
World Religions This link opens in a new window
Extensive database on world religions, offering general reference articles, primary sources, videos, images, etc. Great resource for teachers as well as students.

Reliable Websites

The New York Times
Remember that you all have access to the NY Times via your SSA account. Please ask Ms. Myers if you need assistance signing up for an account.
The Atlantic
Great for in-depth current event information on a variety of topics.
Public Radio International
Great for in-depth reports and interviews about issues around the world.
National Public Radio: World News
Check out many different audio stories from around the world.