Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Research Process
Use the resources on this page to begin the research process. In the other blue tabs at the top you will find resources to use as evidence in your paper, as well as instructions for putting together an outline. As you research, please reach out to me with questions.
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource providing articles, images, etc. on a wide range of topics.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Provides numerous types of resources, from periodicals, academic journals, reference materials, etc. on world history.
Keyword Searching Tips
Before you begin searching, you should make a list of KEYWORDS- terms that will be used in the search box of the databases or news outlet websites. Many times, you will need to perform multiple searches and use multiple keywords to result in a variety of sources. Remember, the more sources the better! Complete the activities below.
Part I. Create a Brainstorming Map to develop a list of keywords
Using a piece of paper or a website like https://bubbl.us/, create a map of key terms related to your topic.
Part 2: Develop synonyms/related terms list for your keywords
You might need to expand on some terms in order to search for your topic and find a variety of resources.
Example Synonyms/Related Terms and Phrases Chart
|Term in Map Above
||Alternate Term or Phrase
||South African War
|Conversion to Christianity
|Enslaved people for economic gain
||Slavery and Agriculture/South African Slavery
Understanding Types of Sources
Make sure that you understand what types of sources are out there before you begin searching!
|Type of Source
- Include encyclopedias, general nonfiction, etc.
- Very well-researched and trustworthy, as they have gone through an extensive editorial process
- Some eBooks, such as Gale eBooks and those in the EBSCOhost database, can be accessed by multiple people at once.
- Make note of the publication date- some can be outdated!
- Variety of newspaper articles primary sources, maps, etc. from numerous sources
- GALE World History, JSTOR, are databases
- EBSCOhost is a hosting site for databases that focus on a variety of material types. Read the descriptions of each database in the hosting site to find out the types of materials available
- Always use advanced search
- Try many different searches and use different keywords
- Article written by an expert in the field
- Takes a long time to publish, might not be as up-to-date with information as a newspaper article
- Both JSTOR and Ebscohost can be used to locate journal articles
- Must assess bias of the author
- Can be long, so use the "search within" or CTRL F feature to search for specific keywords in the article
- Current and up-to-date information on a variety of topics
- Must assess the bias of the author
- Can be hard to differentiate between editorials and regular news articles
Purdue Owl Types of Sources
Check out this resource to learn more about the different types of sources you might encounter when researching.