All SSA students have access to a NoodleTools account by using their SSA Email and Login. Click HERE for a guide to creating an account.
Formatting
All papers should be double splaced, with 12 point font. Typically teachers have students put their name and class information either at the top of the page or on a separate title page. Page numbers should be in the top right corner. HERE is an example of a completed paper using Chicago Style formatting.
Citations
When citing sources in your paper, remember that you must use footnotes. The footnote format is slightly different from the bibliographic format (mainly, in a footnote, use the author's first and last name in order, and use commas instead of periods). Noodletools will create the footnote format for you, so please review and use this feature as needed. The next tab has basic citation formats that you can use to check your bibliography and footnotes.
Noodletools
Noodletools is a great resource for citing sources as well as creating notecards and organizing an outline. View the video tutorials on the left of this page for more information on creating citations and formating notecards using Noodletools.
*For any and all questions regarding citation formating, please review the resources on Noodletools as well as your Pocket Guide to Writing in History by Mary Lynn Rampolla.
Basic Book Citation
Footnote
1. Bryan Stevenson, Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption (New York: Spiegel & Grau, 2014), [Page #].
Bibliography
Stevenson, Bryan. Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption. New York:
Spiegel & Grau, 2014.
Basic Website Citation
Footnote
1. Haley Daugherty, "Why the From Slavery to Freedom Garden is More Than Just Vegetables," Pittsburgh Magazine, [Page #], accessed July 28, 2021, https://www.pittsburghmagazine.com/why-the-from-slavery-to-freedom-garden-is-more-than-just-vegetables/.
Bibliography
Daugherty, Haley. "Why the From Slavery to Freedom Garden is More Than Just
Vegetables." Pittsburgh Magazine. Accessed July 28, 2021.
https://www.pittsburghmagazine.com/
why-the-from-slavery-to-freedom-garden-is-more-than-just-vegetables/.
Basic Database Citation
Footnote
1. Charles K. Piehl, "Building a Housewife's Paradise: Gender, Politics, and American Grocery Stores in the Twentieth Century," The Historian 73, no. 4 (Winter 2011): [Page #], https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A276517707/UHIC?u=pitt94721&sid=UHIC&xid=2628f29c.
Bibliography
Piehl, Charles K. "Building a Housewife's Paradise: Gender, Politics, and
American Grocery Stores in the Twentieth Century." The Historian 73, no. 4
(Winter 2011): 814+. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A276517707/
UHIC?u=pitt94721&sid=UHIC&xid=2628f29c.
Basic Newspaper Citation
Footnote
1. Marion Renault, "These Could Be the Oldest Animal Fossils Ever Found, or Just Squiggles," The New York Times (New York City, NY), July 28, 2021, Science, accessed August 1, 2021, https://www.nytimes.com/2021/07/28/science/sponge-fossil.html?action=click&module=In%20Other%20News&pgtype=Homepage.
Bibliography
Renault, Marion. "These Could Be the Oldest Animal Fossils Ever Found, or Just
Squiggles." The New York Times (New York City, NY), July 28, 2021, Science.
Accessed August 1, 2021. https://www.nytimes.com/2021/07/28/science/
sponge-fossil.html?action=click&module=In%20Other%20News&pgtype=Homepage.
MLA format is the Modern Language Association, and is used in English and Literature courses. MLA does not use footnotes; instead, you provide in-text citations and include page numbers. The final list of sources is called a Works Cited. For more information, click HERE for the MLA handbook.
Basic Book Citation
Stevenson, Bryan. Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption. New York,
Spiegel & Grau, 2014.
Basic Website Citation
Daugherty, Haley. "Why the From Slavery to Freedom Garden is More Than Just
Vegetables." Pittsburgh Magazine, www.pittsburghmagazine.com/
why-the-from-slavery-to-freedom-garden-is-more-than-just-vegetables/.
Accessed 28 July 2021.
Basic Database Citation
CHUNG, CHANJIN, and SAMUEL L. MYERS. "Do the Poor Pay More for Food? An Analysis
of Grocery Store Availability and Food Price Disparities." The Journal of
Consumer Affairs, vol. 33, no. 2, 1999, pp. 276-96. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/
stable/23859959. Accessed 10 Nov. 2020.
Basic Newspaper Citation
Renault, Marion. "These Could Be the Oldest Animal Fossils Ever Found, or Just
Squiggles." The New York Times [New York City], 28 July 2021, Science sec.
The New York Times, www.nytimes.com/2021/07/28/science/
sponge-fossil.html?action=click&module=In%20Other%20News&pgtype=Homepage.
Accessed 1 Aug. 2021.
APA (American Psychological Association) format is used for many social sciences and as well as educational fields. You can find out more HERE, and see some basic formatting examples below.
Basic Book Citation
Stevenson, B. (2014). Just mercy: A story of justice and redemption. Spiegel &
Grau.
Basic Website Citation
Daugherty, H. (2021). Why the from slavery to freedom garden is more than just
vegetables. Pittsburgh Magazine. https://www.pittsburghmagazine.com/
why-the-from-slavery-to-freedom-garden-is-more-than-just-vegetables/
Basic Database Citation
CHUNG, C., & MYERS, S. L. (1999). Do the poor pay more for food? An analysis of
grocery store availability and food price disparities. The Journal of
Consumer Affairs, 33(2), 276-296.
Basic Newspaper Citation
Renault, M. (2021, July 28). These could be the oldest animal fossils ever
found, or just squiggles. The New York Times, Science.
https://www.nytimes.com/2021/07/28/science/
sponge-fossil.html?action=click&module=In%20Other%20News&pgtype=Homepage
