Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scheduling Time in the Library
All teachers are welcome to bring classes into the library! Please check the Library Outlook Calendar, shared at the beginning of the year, and email Lindsey with your requested periods and dates. Also share your project details and how we can help assist you or provide research instruction.
Checking Out Books, Chromebooks, and Chargers
- All teachers are welcome and encouraged to visit the library to check out books! We purchase a wide variety of materials for various disciplines as well as books for pleasure reading. We also take suggestions for purchase; please email Lindsey Myers to request a book purchase for the library!
- Chromebooks are available for students to check if they forgot their computer for the day. Chromebooks are not to be taken home and must be returned at the end of the school day.
- Computer chargers will be available for check out starting in October!
How Google Search Works
Brief video on Google Searching- helpful for teachers and students alike!
Brief guide for teachers on the usefulness of NoodleTools, our citation and research software, and basic information on creating an account and best features.
Adding Gale resources into Canvas
Learn how to add Gale databases to your navigation bar and imbed Gale articles into your assignments, pages, etc.
Adding Infobase resources into Canvas
Learn how to add Infobase databases into your Canvas courses. Open this Google Doc to see which databases are included in the Infobase suite.
Professional Development Sessions
Quick Reference Sheets by Subject
Each resource page highlights the most relevant databases and websites for each discipline, as well as some tutorial videos when applicable.
SSA Library subscribes to digital editions of The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette. To access the New York Times, please create an account by following the directions below. Accounts will need to be renewed each year, so if you find that you are unable to access your account, please follow the same directions to renew.
The Wall Street Journal and the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette have a generic username/password combination, available on the Passwords document linked at the top of this page.
The Wall Street Journal
Full digital access to the Wall Street Journal, using the username and password available on the Database Passwords page.
Pittsburgh's newspaper, reporting on local, regional, and national news. Use the Database Passwords page to locate the username and password.
The New York Times
1. Click on the link above.
2. If you already have an account, select that option. If you do not have an account, create an account with your SSA email address.
3. Once you have signed up, you will receive a verification email. Click on the link in the email to renew/confirm your account.
American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window
Database of over 60,000 primary source documents, maps, guides, essays, and lectures on American History.
American History Online This link opens in a new window
Variety of information pertaining to American history.
Ancestry.com This link opens in a new window
Find birth, death, and marriage certificates and much more on this genology database!
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database offers literary criticisms, synopsis, character explanations, etc. for numerous literary titles.
Churchill Archive This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for primary documents of the life of Winston Churchill, as well as resources on modern European history.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Collections of resources including: BBC Drama Films and Documentaries, LA Theatre Works, Nick Hern Books, Shakespeare's Globe on Screen Video, Shakespeare/Early Modern Drama Video, and Royal Shakespeare Company Live Collections.
EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
EbscoHost is a hosting site for multiple databases that include periodicals, eBooks, academic journals, images, etc. Once you click on the link, select the database you want to use and read the description.
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource providing articles, images, etc. on a wide range of topics.
Fold3.com This link opens in a new window
MIlitary records database.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reference eBooks on a variety of topics.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date information on scientific studies, topics, and news.
Gale in Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Provides numerous types of resources, from periodicals, academic journals, reference materials, etc. on U.S. history.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Provides numerous types of resources, from periodicals, academic journals, reference materials, etc. on world history.
Health Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This is an excellent resource on teen health, nutrition, women's health, men's health, bodily systems, and information on drugs.
Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Discover some of the various arguments throughout world and American history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to numerous academic journals, perfect for in-depth information on a topic.
Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from around the world, from 1690 to the present day.
Power Library Databases This link opens in a new window
Provides access to numerous databases serving multiple disciplines. Click on link to view list.
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical newspapers, including The New York Times.
ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new window
Primary sources related to civil rights, slavery and the Civil War, American Indians and the West, politics and society, women's studies, American labor movements
ProQuest Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for historical newspapers, primary sources, and other resources from various periods in history.
RAND State Statistics This link opens in a new window
Statistics on a variety of topics, easily searched and clearly presented.
Science Magazine This link opens in a new window
Great resource for scientific research and reports.
Science Online This link opens in a new window
This is a useful database for basic scientific research. It includes diagrams, timelines, learning modules, and experiments.
World Religions This link opens in a new window
Extensive database on world religions, offering general reference articles, primary sources, videos, images, etc. Great resource for teachers as well as students.
SSA Senior School Library subscribes to numerous databases for use by students, faculty, and staff. The A-Z databases are listed on the main page of the library's website, but we also have broken down the databases for use by subject, as seen in the help pages listed on this page.
OFF CAMPUS ACCESS
Most resources are available off campus. The database passwords google document lists all of the usernames and passwords need to access the databases while not at school. If you encounter any issues or are unable to access a database off campus, please email Mrs. Myers.
Database Help Guides provided by vendors