LibGuides: Senior School Library: Home

Access eBooks Via Sora

Sora App
Sign in via Google using your SSA email and password

Accessing Noodletools

Every student has access to a Noodletools account, that assists with collecting resources, creating bibliographies, and designing outlines. For more information and video tutorials, go to the Research Assistance tab on this page.

Click HERE for a tutorial and guide for signing up for a Noodletools account. Email Mrs. Myers with any questions

Tutorials

Research and Reading Resources
A collection of resources for students, parents, faculty, and staff, including links to online resources and access information.
Video Tutorial: Ebscohost eBooks
Video Tutorial: JSTOR
Video Tutorial: Proquest Historical Newspapers
Video Tutorial: GALE databases
Video Tutorial: Carnegie Library eResources

Senior School Library Catalog

Remote Database Access

Database Passwords

Please click HERE to access the usernames and passwords for our databases.

**NOTE: You must be signed in to your SSA email and password to access the Google Document- if you receive an error message, please sign out of your personal email and sign in using your SSA email address.

The following databases are NOT available off-campus:

Ancestry.com
Fold3.com
Newspapers.com
Science Magazine

Library Databases

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
This streaming service is includes documentaries, television shows from PBS and BBC, and much more! Login information is needed when off-campus. Please use the username and password for Proquest when accessing from off campus.
American History Online This link opens in a new window
Variety of information pertaining to American history.
Ancestry.com This link opens in a new window
Find birth, death, and marriage certificates and much more on this genology database!
Ancient and Medieval History This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for primary as well as secondary sources.
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database offers literary criticisms, synopsis, character explanations, etc. for numerous literary titles.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Collections of resources including: BBC Drama Films and Documentaries, LA Theatre Works, Nick Hern Books, Shakespeare's Globe on Screen Video, Shakespeare/Early Modern Drama Video, and Royal Shakespeare Company Live Collections.
EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
EbscoHost is a hosting site for multiple databases that include periodicals, eBooks, academic journals, images, etc. Once you click on the link, select the database you want to use.
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource providing articles, images, etc. on a wide range of topics.
Fold3.com This link opens in a new window
MIlitary records database.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reference eBooks on a variety of topics.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date information on scientific studies, topics, and news.
Gale in Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Provides numerous types of resources, from periodicals, academic journals, reference materials, etc. on U.S. history.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Provides numerous types of resources, from periodicals, academic journals, reference materials, etc. on world history.
Gale Primary Sources: 19th Century Collection This link opens in a new window
Excellent primary source collection for european imperialism, the colonization of Africa, and other 19th century events.
Health Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This is an excellent resource on teen health, nutrition, women's health, men's health, bodily systems, and information on drugs.
Image Quest from Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Thousands of images for educational use, includes citations for images!
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Provides numerous articles and subject guides for current issues under debate.
Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Discover some of the various arguments throughout world and American history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to numerous academic journals, perfect for in-depth information on a topic.
Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from around the world, from 1690 to the present day.
Power Library Databases This link opens in a new window
Provides access to numerous databases serving multiple disciplines. Click on link to view list.
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical newspapers, including The New York Times.
ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new window
Primary sources related to civil rights, slavery and the Civil War, American Indians and the West, politics and society, women's studies, American labor movements
ProQuest Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for historical newspapers, primary sources, and other resources from various periods in history.
RAND State Statistics This link opens in a new window
Statistics on a variety of topics, easily searched and clearly presented.
Science Magazine This link opens in a new window
Great resource for scientific research and reports.
Science Online This link opens in a new window
This is a useful database for basic scientific research. It includes diagrams, timelines, learning modules, and experiments.
World Religions This link opens in a new window
Extensive database on world religions, offering general reference articles, primary sources, videos, images, etc. Great resource for teachers as well as students.

Digital Newspapers

New York Times
Access the New York Times using your SSA email address. Sign up for an account by clicking on the image.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
Pittsburgh's newspaper, reporting on local, regional, and national news. Use the Database Passwords page to locate the username and password.
The Wall Street Journal
Full digital access to the Wall Street Journal, using the username and password available on the Database Passwords page.

Contact Us! Library Staff

Lindsey Myers, Director of the Library

412-648-3073

lmyers@shadysideacademy.org

Wenwen Grant, Library Assistant

aharrison@shadysideacademy.org

LIBRARY HOURS

7:45AM - 3:45PM