LibGuides: Senior School Library: History Guides

History Guides by Project

Click on the title of your project to access the guide.

Problems in World History
- Current Event Mini Essay
- Islam Essay

U.S.History:
- Constitution Essay
- Civil War and Reconstruction

Patterns of Western Identity
- Monuments Project

American Foreign Policy
- Origins of American Foreign Policy

Modern Social Justice Movements
- Race Relations in the United States

History Databases

American History Online This link opens in a new window
Variety of information pertaining to American history.
Gale in Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Provides numerous types of resources, from periodicals, academic journals, reference materials, etc. on U.S. history.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Provides numerous types of resources, from periodicals, academic journals, reference materials, etc. on world history.
Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Discover some of the various arguments throughout world and American history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to numerous academic journals, perfect for in-depth information on a topic.
ProQuest Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for historical newspapers, primary sources, and other resources from various periods in history.
World Religions This link opens in a new window
Extensive database on world religions, offering general reference articles, primary sources, videos, images, etc. Great resource for teachers as well as students.
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical newspapers, including The New York Times.

Database Passwords

Need access to a database?

Please click HERE to access the usernames and passwords for our databases.

**NOTE: You must be signed in to your SSA email and password to access the Google Document- if you receive an error message, please sign out of your personal email and sign in using your SSA email address.

Citation Guides for History

General History Links and Resources

The Library of Congress
Excellent source for primary documents.
CIA World Factbook
Statistical and basic country information.
Digital History
Great U.S. History resource from the University of Houston, including a variety of primary documents.